The Walking Recap: Self Help

This is the most behind I’ve ever fallen on my Walking Recap series of posts and I feel so terrible about it but my life got extra topsy turvy this past week and I’m trying to get back on track and not letting my day-to-day affect my blogging too much; after all, this is still a passion and a hobby and not something I ever want to see as a chore. So anyway, I’m writing this before tonight’s episode, and it may be moot to do so, but still a principle and a commitment. I’ll keep it short:

screenshot-2014-11-10-at-12-43-02-pm-5-things-you-might-have-missed-in-the-walking-dead-self-help-b320eb77-b457-4c0a-8026-55350c8d6c35

I’m giving last week’s episode a 3.5 out of 5 lies. It wasn’t the most engaging episode this season so far, and its twist was one I saw coming. In fact, this recap will inevitably short for another reason, and that is that not a whole lot happened that wasn’t repetitive or predictable.

6a0515cb-7ce3-1446-3d49-53eb2710bdc6twd505gp06200079jpg-eb5f07

Essentially, last week’s episode gave us a glimpse into Abraham’s former life, the life he led just as the zombie apocalypse was starting. We may have some remaining questions about who he was with during these scenes, and how much his anger issues and need for purpose were instilled in him from before the outbreak and how many of those qualities directly resulted from the outbreak. But in the end, all I cared about was knowing that these flashbacks would reveal how Abraham and Eugene met, and how he came to devote his militaristic sense of discipline to protecting and transporting Eugene to Washington D.C. And, this moment was gratifying, especially because it comes soon after the present day revelation that Eugene has been lying all along– he isn’t a scientist, just a really good liar.

walking-dead-self-help

The moment plays out shockingly, but the revelation in itself was not shocking at all (maybe that’s the pessimist in me… or maybe it’s due to the fact that Eugene has been secretly stalling their travels this whole time, and this becomes obvious at various points in this episode). He decides to reveal it because if he doesn’t, he knows someone will get hurt: he reveals it just as Abraham and everyone else are arguing about which way they should travel– take more time to backtrack and guarantee safety, or go through the shorter route which will no doubt be a zombie minefield.

Walking-Dead-505-Trouble-on-The-Road

So, it’ll be interesting to see where this subgroup stands now, but if I’m being honest, I feel more invested in the other storylines that have been established this season, and there’s really not much of a point in having this one go on for much longer on its own merits, in my opinion.

One thought on “The Walking Recap: Self Help

Leave a Reply

