A Very Redheaded Wrap-Up: New York Comic-Con

Another post I’ve been meaning to write since last weekend, here is an account of my redheaded romp through the Javits Center for New York Comic-Con 2014!

Friday: 

NYCC and the season premiere of The Walking Dead always seem to coincide, which is to say, they pair quite nicely. That being said– this poster will always be the closest I get to seeing the panel (even with the new wristband system where the Main Hall is cleared after every panel, corruption was abundant and many of these coveted spots were sold by a crew member; tsk tsk!)

10509603_10152731677233604_8951335637442734112_n

Anyway, I wore my Pinhead Hellraiser shirt and went to a panel called “Reinventing Horror.” It was super interesting because the panelists– who ranged in profession from comic book authors/illustrators to filmmakers and novelists– talked about the ways in which what scares us changes as we age. Many of them noted that body horror freaks them out as they get older, for instance, as well as movies that aren’t typically considered to be horror films. Someone mentioned All Is Lost— the Robert Redford film which I’m literally too scared to see– as being horrifying to them even though it isn’t a genre film. I’m always fascinated by genre boundaries, so that was really cool. Of course, things got slightly tangential when A Serbian Film was brought up, but even that incited a fascinating discussion about creativity, censorship, ownership and responsibility on the part of creators. Also, one panelist mentioned a horror novel he was currently reading called The Troop by Nick Cutter. Well, needless to say I am reading it now and it is amazing; totally creepy and creatively written and impossible to put down.

I also attended (but just barely) a Doctor Who panel about the last 10 years since the “new Who” arrived with Christopher Eccleston. It was fun but nothing too worthy of note– except that I’m thankfully not the only one who hated Clara Oswald’s one-dimensional writing (not at all Jenna Louise Coleman’s fault, hence my intended emphasis on the writing of her character) but who loves the character in this season with Peter Capaldi, with whom I think she has much better chemistry too.

Oh and I tried some fantasy food from the fantasy food truck!

10659291_10152731677378604_5756628158913700978_n

Best Cosplay of Friday: My favorite cosplays I saw on Friday included someone who dressed as one of the animal-masked killers from You’re Next and this couple who did a Pris and Deckard Blade Runner cosplay! 10712967_10152731677653604_8663598784304692317_n

10659291_10152731678538604_5124811179885269648_n

Saturday:

Saturday I wore my Doc in a Box shirt (Doctor Who/SNL “Dick in a Box” crossover) and first thing in the morning, I attended the official The League panel! The FX show is one of my favorite comedies right now, even though I’m admittedly not current. They showed an upcoming episode which was hilarious, of course. Then, the whole cast was there– including Jason Mantzoukas, who I adore as Rafi. The Q & A took a turn for the annoying and awkward as they so often do, due to question-askers not really asking questions. But Mark Duplass and Nick Kroll were particularly funny in their handling of these pesky time wasters (and Paul Scheer was also really funny– but I feel like I’m mostly stating obvious facts here). But it was Mantzoukas who amused me the most, especially when the panel realized there was a young-ish boy in the audience. The Strain-related penis jokes and other forms raunchy chaos ensued. And we got free mini-footballs with The League logo on them!

Then, I attended the official Sailor Moon panel! I haven’t actually actively watched the beloved anime since I was a kid but the nostalgia was enough to get me through the boring panel before it. Apparently, it’s been remastered and redubbed with an all new English cast. They showed clips, handed out free posters, and basically made me want to be a 6 year old again (or to at least dig up all my old Sailor Moon merch and revel in its former glory).

1013757_10152737440793604_2609961276081122034_n

Favorite Cosplays of Saturday:

This Sharknado 2 cosplay had me cracking up as we waited in line for The League panel. But there was also a group of gender swapped Sailor scouts so that was also pretty great.

1234010_10152737435068604_2863592596548243474_n 1796505_10152737440493604_4460881973303897623_n

Sunday: 

I spent most of Sunday on the showfloor and then only attended a Women in Geek Media panel. It was only helpful in the sense that I am a female who blogs about occasionally nerdy things. But I’m lucky enough to have never faced any kind of discrimination yet, and if I ever do, the advice these girls gave will definitely come in handy– I intend to always do what I love and know that online haters don’t have it as good as me if I’m the one who’s doing the creating.

Favorite Cosplays of Sunday:

I don’t have any pics, but there were some amazing Guardians of the Galaxy cosplays– particularly Groot and Rocket (although there was a freakishly good-looking Peter Quill/Star-Lord– like, it could have been Chris Pratt’s cousin). Also, a feminine– but not sexualized– Batman and Robin; these women wore seemingly hand-made ball gowns inspired by the characters and it was really impressive.

Swag, Merch, and Other Cool Finds: 

The fact that I’m reading The Troop is actually ironic– I wrote the title down only to find that my mom had bought it on the showfloor that same day. I also bought two marked-down graphic novels including Marvel 1602: Spider-Man (aka Peter Parquagh), a Marvel vintage comic book wallet, a little Spider-Man that grasps onto your headphones (it matches my Spider-Man iPhone case!) and a little Spider-Man print from an artist that says “Keep Calm and Be Amazing” (it was a better deal to buy a few though so I also got one of baby dancing Groot!) It seems like my purchases were dominated by Spider-Man but I also got Metropolis on Blu-Ray for only $20 from Kino Lorber’s Kino-CULT booth. I can’t wait to rewatch it. We also got tons of free tote bags as usual, no free tee shirts this year though. But all in all, it was a successful Comic-Con weekend! Thanks for reading!

1911735_10152737442213604_5105094426387977963_n

2 thoughts on “A Very Redheaded Wrap-Up: New York Comic-Con

  1. Kudos to the Blade Runner couple and thanks for posting your photo of them. By the way, back in my day girls never wore such cool Spidey-wear. I guess this is what should be called progress- yes the geeks are inheriting the Earth! Great blog.

  2. I was also at The League panel. I loved Mantzoukas’ response to the actual question about what the Domination league does: “We could tell you, but then we’d have to do it to you!”

Leave a Reply

