Liebster Award

Image

Wow, I am so honored and surprised and humbled and excited to be nominated by the awesome Cinematic Frontier for the Liebster Award! The rules of the Liebster Award are the following:

1. The bloggers who have been nominated must link back to the person who nominated them.
2. Nominees must answer the eleven questions given to them by the person who nominated them.
3. Those nominated must choose eleven of their favorite bloggers who have less than 200 followers to answer their own set of questions When you are nominated, you cannot nominate the person who nominated you

Thank you so much again to The Cinematic Frontier, whose blog can be found linked above as well as again right here!

Here are my answers to the 11 questions asked of me, and after that, you’ll find the links to 11 cool blogs that I nominate for the Liebster Award, along with 11 new questions which they must answer!

1. What is your favorite new release of 2014 so far?
Definitely E.L. Katz’s Cheap Thrills— yes, it was a limited release but with VOD and iTunes, there is no excuse to not see this film, one of the rare recipients of a perfect score from me here on my blog; but it’s definitely not for everyone!

2. Do you prefer 3D or 2D?
2D. I don’t hate 3D as much as some might, but it certainly does distract from the film experience for me more often than it enhances it.

3. What is your favorite film from the year you were born?
Reservoir Dogs (Quentin Tarantino, 1992)

4. Star Trek or Star Wars?
Star Wars, for sure.

5. Which Comic-Con have you most recently attended (or, if you’ve never been to one, which one do you plan or wish to attend)?
I attended New York Comic-Con the past two years and loved it. Of course, San Diego would be the dream, wouldn’t it?

6. Blu-ray or streaming?
Blu-ray; streaming can be great, but I’ve heard that Netflix in particular cuts off the framing of certain films to fit the format, and I’m still old fashioned in the sense that I like owning DVDs and things like that on physical copies if I really love the movie.

7. Name your favorite ’80s song in a film.
“Cat People (Putting Out Fire)” by David Bowie from 1982’s Cat People BUT most particularly for the way it is used in, another Tarantino favorite appearing here, Inglourious Basterds (2009)

8. What is your favorite film based on a book?
Soon, it will probably be Gone Girl but for the intents and purposes of answering these questions now, I’d have to say The Perks of Being a Wallflower— since I feel like it’s better for me to pick a book-to-movie adaptation of a novel I’ve read and loved and because I think the movie version was extremely effective and unfortunately underrated.

9. What is your favorite (or least favorite) Nicholas Cage haircut?
Ghost Rider, hands down. I mean come on, just look at it (I think there are probably worse ones out there, sure, but my hatred for the Ghost Rider movies and the fact that Cage is just so hilariously and disturbingly miscast as Johnny Blaze in them might be manifesting here):

Image

10. Which film recently made you reflect on it long after the credits were over?
I recently watched Boyz N The Hood (1991) for my Melodrama class, and I thought it was really resonant and just incredibly powerful still, and it’s the kind of movie I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy or not going into it; but it was truly affecting and I was left sort of reeling from it afterwards, perhaps because of how relevant and emotional it still is for viewers, or at least for me anyway.

11. Who is your favorite composer?
I hope it’s an acceptable answer to say Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross because their work in Fincher’s last few films just matches and meshes so well with the aesthetics and narratives of said films; Hand Covers Bruise or their version of In the Hall of the Mountain King give me chills and elevate the already amazing film by giving it a dark, eerie ambiance that no one else possibly could.

Now for the 11 blogs I nominate for the Liebster Award:

1. Life Vs Film
2. See It Or Skip It
3.The Vern’s Video Vortex
4. Chewy Reviews
5. All My Life… I Wanted To Be a Blogster
6. Necropolis Macabre
7. The Family Room Film Critic
8. Lifeisforfilm
9. Matt Reviews Movies
10. Halloween Girl
11. TV.FOR.Days

And your 11 questions that must answered by these bloggers, for these blogs to be eligible for the award are:

1. Favorite TV or movie heroine?
2. Name one movie you thought you wouldn’t like that you did?
3. Name one movie you thought you were going to like but you didn’t?
4. What’s your opinion on the recent trend of films-turned-TV-shows (ie- Parenthood, About a Boy, and Bad Teacher)
5. What’s your favorite and least favorite genre?
6. Name something that is technically “bad” within pop culture (like a poorly reviewed film or a short-lived TV show) that you love– like a guilty pleasure you’d defend no matter what.
7. Name an actor or actress you can’t stand even if you have no good reason for disliking them.
8. Name a cancelled TV show you’d bring back OR a movie that you think should be remade.
9. Favorite era or decade within film or pop culture at large?
10. What random or obscure pop culture thing would you love there to be a convention for or which would you want to attend, if there already exists a convention for it?
11. What specific film technique or narrative trope drives you crazy when you see it?

So, there you all have it! Thank you so so so much again to the wonderful Cinematic Frontier, I encourage you all to check out his blog at the links in this post above! I intend to contact each blog within the next couple days or so to say that I’ve nominated them!

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Thank you I am honored for this award. Work has got me busy this week so I wont be able to get to it until next week, but thanks again for the love I do appreciate it

  2. I’m way late on this, but I wanted to stop by and thank you for the nomination. I’m so far away from where I would like to be with the site, and do not think I have done enough to warrant the honor. Thank you – it was nice to see, as it’s been a tough stretch of late.

Leave a Reply

